Top 4 Planning Mishaps for Theme Park Beginners

The tips below will assist you in planning the perfect theme park day!

1. Assumption: You should follow the map in a circle and complete the attractions in order. 

Reality: In the olden days before fast and express passes, this may have been the case. It was definitely my dad’s way of doing things. “No backtracking!” was his mantra. As I grew older, I quickly learned that this was the wrong way to do a park, and took charge as our family’s theme park coordinator.

GuideMap2015-02-MK2
Not overwhelming at all, nope…

If you are at Disney and have reserved fast passes for certain rides, you should definitely plan for a certain route so that you’re not zig-zagging all over the place and wasting time. For example, pick a spot for lunch that is near your next attraction if it’s in the afternoon. Maybe catch a parade or a show while you’re waiting, too!

Alternatively, another great way to beat crowds for the popular rides is to get in line during show or parade times. I literally walked on to Peter Pan at Magic Kingdom right before the Wishes fireworks show was about to start. That queue is never under 50 minutes, even in the off season. In my 20+ years of theme parking, that has never happened. I even made it off the ride in time to catch most of the fireworks!

Another great option is to wait in line for a different attraction while waiting for your fast pass to become active. You won’t be able to reserve a fast pass for every ride, so try to plan those reservations for the more popular attractions like the Seven Dwarves Mine Train at Magic Kingdom. While you’re waiting, you could walk on to a (typically) 30-45 minute queue for Winnie the Pooh a few doors down. By the time you’re done spinning around in a honey pot, it will be time to start singing Heigh-Ho! Waiting in line for a ride with an updated queue (such as Winnie the Pooh) is also great because there are interactive games and activities that you and your group can participate in to pass the time. This is especially beneficial for the little ones who get bored easily! Most rides built within the last five years or so have interactive queues, and older rides such as Space Mountain and Peter Pan are constantly being refurbished to offer these experiences as well. Disney never stops entertaining!

Here is a great video from Inside the Magic that showcases the updated queue for Peter Pan. This is probably my favorite queue, as it feels like a mini-ride in and of itself! Instead of winding through chain-linked stantions, you are immersed in the Darling household and get to play with Tink along the way.

Universal’s Express Pass system grants you instant access to the VIP line, so a more elaborate plan may not be necessary when planning your day. This is one instance where you can do the park in a circle, if you wish. While that is a lovely option, Express Passes cost around $50-$60 extra on top of your general admission park ticket. Keep in mind that these passes do not work on any of the Harry Potter attractions, either. Disney fast passes are always free of charge.

2. Assumption: You can’t bring food or drinks into the parks. 

Reality: You absolutely can! Personal drink containers must be empty before entering, but this is a huge money saving tip when it comes to water. Sealed bottles of soda or water are also allowed. Alcohol is always prohibited, as are glass containers. For a full list of acceptable and prohibited items for Universal, click here. For Disney, click here.

I recently purchased this awesome Hufflepuff water bottle:

Badgers know how important it is to stay hydrated in Florida.
Badgers know how important it is to stay hydrated in the Florida heat

from Quality Quidditch Supplies in Diagon Alley and it is now my designated park water bottle. It clips on to my pants or purse, and has a straw for easy thirst-quenching action. Plus it’s a useful souvenir and relatively inexpensive at around $15!

Foodwise, something simple such as an Uncrustables sandwich and some fruit or nuts make for a quick, healthy and filling meal. All of these foods are easily packed in a backpack or purse and require none or minimal refrigeration, too! The same meal for a child will cost you around $8 at Disney. If you do have food that should be kept cold, a small lunchbox or cold pack in a backpack should do the trick.

There are definitely some foods at the parks that should not be sacrificed – cheese fries at Magic Kingdom or ice cream at Florean Forstescue’s in Diagon Alley (my favorite is the strawberry peanut butter, but yes, they have Butterbeer flavor as well) for example.

Little potato sticks covered in liquid gold

Packing at least one meal and some sustenance snacks will help with “vacation guilt” of spending too much money in the parks, and allow you to splurge on fun treats instead of spending $14 on a plain cheeseburger (fries a la carte).

Which brings me to my next point…

3. Assumption: Adults have to order adult meals.

Reality: Order from the kids menu! Not only will you save money, but unless you’re starving you probably don’t need that half-pound BBQ bacon cheeseburger that will leave you feeling greasy and bloated for the rest of the day as you trudge through the parks in the heat. The last time I visited Animal Kingdom, I purchased a kid’s meal for just under $8 that came with a decent sized piece of rotisserie chicken, a small drink (I opted for the water) and a choice of two sides (I picked apple slices and yogurt, but grapes or a cookie were also an option). I gave the yogurt to my nephew, and had some of the almonds I packed instead. It was light, filling, and was just what I needed to satiate my appetite for the time being. I try to only indulge in dinners at the theme parks so that I have more time to enjoy my meal and not worry how the food might impact the rest of my day.

I have never seen a Disney employee question my purchase of a kids meal, either. I typically only eat at the Harry Potter restaurants at Universal (the most delicious food and best bang for your buck), so I have never ordered kids meals there. From what I’ve seen, though, Disney seems to offer better (and healthier) options for children’s food.

An example of a kids meal from Pecos Bill's at Magic Kingdom
An example of a kids meal from Pecos Bill’s at Magic Kingdom

4. Assumption: Do all the things!!

Reality: Enjoy as much as you can, but focus on what you are truly excited to experience. This is your time and money being spent, so if you want to spend all day in Diagon Alley and Hogsmeade, then go for it! (I highly recommend doing that, by the way).

With the ever-rising cost of theme park admission prices, most people feel like they need to plan out every minute of their day to get as much in as possible. Especially when you’re bringing a family and spending big bucks to do so. While that certainly makes sense, it can also be quite stressful when trying to keep up with your plan. If you are a Florida native and have somewhat easy access to the parks, I suggest you take a more laid-back approach. As an annual passholder to Disney and Universal, I normally don’t arrive at the parks until the afternoon and stay for maybe 5 hours or so. I understand that out-of-towners want to see as much as possible, but you should never stand in a 45-minute queue for a ride you aren’t thrilled about. If I have friends or family visiting from out of town, I will gladly get to the parks early and stay late to help them to navigate their day so that they can see and do as much as possible. Just remember to choose the attractions, shows and parades that will create the happiest and most memorable experience for you and yours!

Please let me know in the comments if you have any other questions or ideas when it comes to taking on a day at the parks. Don’t forget to follow me on InstagramTwitter and Facebook! I can also be reached privately at themeparkbackyard@gmail.com. Let me know what you would like to see featured next! 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑